2014 Honors Speech Contest

On December 2 The Honors Program hosted the Twelfth Annual Honors Public Speaking Contest in SCI 102. Dr. Neil Patten, Professor of Communications, organizes this event for the Honors Program on a yearly basis. Honors students enrolled in the 121 public speaking classes compete earlier in the evening in two rounds for the top four slots, speaking on compelling informative and persuasive issues of the day. One tradition of the contest, is to have “distinguished judges” on a panel to judge the top four speakers, which included Dr. John Scott Gray, Brooke Moore, Dr. Paul Blake and Professor Paul Zube. Aaron Zebolsky, the winner of last year’s event, served as emcee for the evening. After an informative and enjoyable evening, Connor Pilmore received First Place Recognition for his Persuasive speech on Running. Also receiving awards were Paige Kramer – “Climate Change”, Caitlyn Bailey, “Suicide Among Honor Students”, and Megan Polisuk-Balfour, “Rubik’s Cube”.

All photos courtesy of Ferris State University SmugMug)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.