Honors Students Win Awards at the Torchbearer Awards Ceremony

Each year, Ferris State University recognizes students for their outstanding service and leadership at the Torchbearer Awards Ceremony. We would like to congratulate Honors students who won awards this year.

Camryn Booms received the Rising Star Award, which recognizes students who attended leadership training, developed leadership goals, and have begun impacting the community.

The Initiative 125 Award goes to students who logged 125 service hours or more in the past year. This year’s recipients include Katelyn Berens, Byron Brooks, Ciara Kibby, Cassandra Kolka, Noelle Kraus, An Le, Arianna Lozano, Trevor Polisuk–Balfor, Lucille Reigle, Megan Ritchie, Jonathan Stevens, and Alysha West.

Cassandra Kolka and Arianna Lozano also won the Volunteer of the Year Award, which goes to the students who have recorded the most volunteer hours. Cassandra Kolka did 346.25 hours of service, and Arianna Lozano did 454.8 hours of service over the past year.

Katelyn Berens won the Community Impact Award for her outstanding volunteer work at CranHill Ranch.

Allyson Faulkner received the Newman Civic Fellowship, an award sponsored by the Campus Compact that recognizes students who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country.

Nia Goins and Byron Brooks won the Above and Beyond Award given by the Office of Multicultural Students.

The Honors Program recognized outstanding honors seniors. Joseph Rockwell, Rebecca James, Taylor Scheurer, Jonathan Stevens, and Brittney Rickerson were honored as nominees and Victoria Sellas received the Outstanding Scholar Award.

Rebecca James was also named the Ubuntu Education Abroad Scholar.

Daniel Rivera and Vanesa Rios won the Promesa Scholars Award.

The Torchbearer Award recognizes students who will be graduating in the next year and have demonstrated outstanding leadership skills at Ferris. The winners this year include Anna Bron, Amber Hubbard, Lucille Reigle, Joseph Rockwell, Jonathan Stevens, Tess Strasser, and April Wilson.

Congratulations to all of the award winners—we are proud of you!